How many public high schools are in Utah?
This count covers public and charter records classified at the high level. It does not combine other grade configurations or separately grouped private-school records.
How this Utah high-school count is built.
The count uses K12 Atlas school profiles aligned to the 2024 NCES Common Core of Data. A record appears here when its reported school-level classification is High. Schools with combined, ungraded, prekindergarten, secondary, or unreported configurations appear in the state’s other-level directory.
Salt Lake City accounts for 25 listings, or 9.9% of this directory count. That describes record distribution only; K12 Atlas does not rank school quality.
Updated September 1, 2026 · Source year 2024 · Release v2026.07 · Read the methodology or return to all Utah school levels.
Utah districts represented in the high-school count.
14 high-school records · Layton
13 high-school records · Orem
12 high-school records · West Jordan
10 high-school records · St George
9 high-school records · Sandy
9 high-school records · Salt Lake City
9 high-school records · Ogden
7 high-school records · Salt Lake City
6 high-school records · Tooele
5 high-school records · Hyrum
5 high-school records · Kanab
5 high-school records · Spanish Fork
Shown in descending record count, not to evaluate districts.
High schools by city.
25 high schools
13 high schools
11 high schools
10 high schools
7 high schools
7 high schools
7 high schools
7 high schools
5 high schools
5 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
4 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
Example Utah high-school records.
One example from each of the most represented cities, where available. These are directory examples, not recommendations.
| School | City | District | Grades | Sector |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Academy for Math Engineering & Science | Salt Lake City | Academy for Math Engineering & Science | 09–12 | Public |
| Ben Lomond High | Ogden | Ogden City District | 10–12 | Public |
| COPPER HILLS YOUTH CENTER | West Jordan | District not reported | 06–12 | Private |
| Alta High | Sandy | Canyons District | 08–12 | Public |
| Canyon View High | Cedar City | Iron District | 09–12 | Public |
| ARCHES ACADEMY | Orem | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| Independence High | Provo | Provo District | 05–12 | Public |
| CORAL SANDS ACADEMY | St George | District not reported | 06–12 | Private |
| American Academy of Innovation | South Jordan | American Academy of Innovation | 06–12 | Public |
| East Hollywood High | West Valley City | East Hollywood High | 09–12 | Public |
| Catalyst Center | Kaysville | Davis District | 09–12 | Public |
| Davis Connect 7-12 | Layton | Davis District | 07–12 | Public |
Questions about Utah high schools.
How many public high schools are in Utah?
K12 Atlas counts 199 Utah schools reported at the high level in its 2024 NCES CCD-aligned directory.
What does the Utah high-school count include?
It includes public and charter records classified at the high level. Other grade configurations and private-school records are grouped separately so the count is reproducible.
Which Utah cities and districts have high-school listings?
The directory covers 100 cities and 70 districts. The examples on this page show identity, location, district, and grade span without ranking schools.
Can I download the full list of Utah high schools?
The examples and aggregate counts are free. Full school rows and API entry are paid — see API access.
Need the full Utah dataset?
Licensed access returns every Utah school with all 122 documented fields, each tied to a source and vintage.