How many public high schools are in Ohio?
This count covers public and charter records classified at the high level. It does not combine other grade configurations or separately grouped private-school records.
How this Ohio high-school count is built.
The count uses K12 Atlas school profiles aligned to the 2024 NCES Common Core of Data. A record appears here when its reported school-level classification is High. Schools with combined, ungraded, prekindergarten, secondary, or unreported configurations appear in the state’s other-level directory.
Cincinnati accounts for 84 listings, or 5.6% of this directory count. That describes record distribution only; K12 Atlas does not rank school quality.
Updated September 28, 2026 · Source year 2024 · Release v2026.07 · Read the methodology or return to all Ohio school levels.
Ohio districts represented in the high-school count.
28 high-school records · Cleveland
22 high-school records · Columbus
13 high-school records · Toledo
12 high-school records · Cincinnati
9 high-school records · Akron
7 high-school records · Dayton
5 high-school records · Grove City
5 high-school records · Youngstown
4 high-school records · West Union
4 high-school records · Hilliard
4 high-school records · Lewis Center
3 high-school records · Dublin
Shown in descending record count, not to evaluate districts.
High schools by city.
84 high schools
63 high schools
56 high schools
47 high schools
37 high schools
30 high schools
28 high schools
24 high schools
23 high schools
21 high schools
20 high schools
18 high schools
13 high schools
12 high schools
12 high schools
12 high schools
10 high schools
10 high schools
9 high schools
8 high schools
8 high schools
8 high schools
8 high schools
8 high schools
Example Ohio high-school records.
One example from each of the most represented cities, where available. These are directory examples, not recommendations.
| School | City | District | Grades | Sector |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AL PI DARKO INITIATIVE BDA OHR TORAH CINCINNATI | Cincinnati | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| ALL SAINTS ACADEMY | Columbus | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| Bard Early College Cleveland | Cleveland | Cleveland Municipal | 09–12 | Public |
| BLESSING ACRES | Millersburg | District not reported | 01–08 | Private |
| Aerospace & Natural Science Academy of Toledo | Toledo | Toledo City | 07–12 | Public |
| ASHERY | Fredericksburg | District not reported | 01–08 | Private |
| ACE Community Academy | Middlefield | ACE Community Academy | 09–12 | Public |
| BISHOP LEIBOLD SCHOOL | Dayton | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| ACADEMY OF THE IMMACULATE HEART OF MARY | Akron | District not reported | 01–08 | Private |
| ANDERSON SCHOOL | Apple Creek | District not reported | 01–08 | Private |
| ACLD SCHOOL | Youngstown | District not reported | 02–08 | Private |
| AUBURN HILLS SCHOOL | Baltic | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
Questions about Ohio high schools.
How many public high schools are in Ohio?
K12 Atlas counts 928 Ohio schools reported at the high level in its 2024 NCES CCD-aligned directory.
What does the Ohio high-school count include?
It includes public and charter records classified at the high level. Other grade configurations and private-school records are grouped separately so the count is reproducible.
Which Ohio cities and districts have high-school listings?
The directory covers 531 cities and 752 districts. The examples on this page show identity, location, district, and grade span without ranking schools.
Can I download the full list of Ohio high schools?
The examples and aggregate counts are free. Full school rows and API entry are paid — see API access.
Need the full Ohio dataset?
Licensed access returns every Ohio school with all 122 documented fields, each tied to a source and vintage.