How many public high schools are in Hawaii?
This count covers public and charter records classified at the high level. It does not combine other grade configurations or separately grouped private-school records.
How this Hawaii high-school count is built.
The count uses K12 Atlas school profiles aligned to the 2024 NCES Common Core of Data. A record appears here when its reported school-level classification is High. Schools with combined, ungraded, prekindergarten, secondary, or unreported configurations appear in the state’s other-level directory.
Honolulu accounts for 20 listings, or 23.8% of this directory count. That describes record distribution only; K12 Atlas does not rank school quality.
Updated September 1, 2026 · Source year 2024 · Release v2026.07 · Read the methodology or return to all Hawaii school levels.
Hawaii districts represented in the high-school count.
46 high-school records · Honolulu
Shown in descending record count, not to evaluate districts.
High schools by city.
20 high schools
6 high schools
5 high schools
4 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
3 high schools
2 high schools
2 high schools
2 high schools
2 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
1 high schools
Example Hawaii high-school records.
One example from each of the most represented cities, where available. These are directory examples, not recommendations.
| School | City | District | Grades | Sector |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Admiral Arthur W Radford High School | Honolulu | Hawaii Department of Education | 09–12 | Public |
| HAWAIIAN MISSION ACADEMY WINDWARD CAMPUS | Kailua | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
| Castle High School | Kaneohe | Hawaii Department of Education | 09–12 | Public |
| Hilo High School | Hilo | Hawaii Department of Education | 09–12 | Public |
| Aiea High School | Aiea | Hawaii Department of Education | 09–12 | Public |
| EMMANUEL LUTHERAN SCHOOL | Kahului | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| KAHILI ADVENTIST SCHOOL | Kapaa | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| DreamHouse Ewa Beach | Kapolei | Hawaii Department of Education | 06–11 | Public |
| CARDEN ACADEMY OF MAUI | Makawao | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| ADVENTIST MALAMA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL | Waianae | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
| NEW HOPE CHRISTIAN SCHOOL | Waipahu | District not reported | PK–08 | Private |
| James Campbell High School | Ewa Beach | Hawaii Department of Education | 09–12 | Public |
Questions about Hawaii high schools.
How many public high schools are in Hawaii?
K12 Atlas counts 46 Hawaii schools reported at the high level in its 2024 NCES CCD-aligned directory.
What does the Hawaii high-school count include?
It includes public and charter records classified at the high level. Other grade configurations and private-school records are grouped separately so the count is reproducible.
Which Hawaii cities and districts have high-school listings?
The directory covers 29 cities and 1 districts. The examples on this page show identity, location, district, and grade span without ranking schools.
Can I download the full list of Hawaii high schools?
The examples and aggregate counts are free. Full school rows and API entry are paid — see API access.
Need the full Hawaii dataset?
Licensed access returns every Hawaii school with all 122 documented fields, each tied to a source and vintage.