How many public high schools are in California?
This count covers public and charter records classified at the high level. It does not combine other grade configurations or separately grouped private-school records.
How this California high-school count is built.
The count uses K12 Atlas school profiles aligned to the 2024 NCES Common Core of Data. A record appears here when its reported school-level classification is High. Schools with combined, ungraded, prekindergarten, secondary, or unreported configurations appear in the state’s other-level directory.
Los Angeles accounts for 227 listings, or 6.9% of this directory count. That describes record distribution only; K12 Atlas does not rank school quality.
Updated September 28, 2026 · Source year 2024 · Release v2026.07 · Read the methodology or return to all California school levels.
California districts represented in the high-school count.
173 high-school records · Los Angeles
25 high-school records · Bakersfield
25 high-school records · San Diego
17 high-school records · Oakland
17 high-school records · San Francisco
17 high-school records · Chula Vista
16 high-school records · San Jose
15 high-school records · Fresno
15 high-school records · Sacramento
14 high-school records · El Cajon
13 high-school records · Anaheim
13 high-school records · Lancaster
Shown in descending record count, not to evaluate districts.
High schools by city.
227 high schools
88 high schools
85 high schools
66 high schools
62 high schools
43 high schools
38 high schools
30 high schools
29 high schools
28 high schools
24 high schools
22 high schools
21 high schools
19 high schools
18 high schools
16 high schools
16 high schools
16 high schools
15 high schools
15 high schools
15 high schools
15 high schools
15 high schools
15 high schools
Example California high-school records.
One example from each of the most represented cities, where available. These are directory examples, not recommendations.
| School | City | District | Grades | Sector |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANGELES WORKSHOP SCHOOL | Los Angeles | District not reported | 08–12 | Private |
| ADDA CLEVENGER SCHOOL | San Francisco | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
| ACES 2020 LLC DBA: ACES ACADEMY | San Diego | District not reported | 07–12 | Private |
| ACE Charter High | San Jose | ACE Charter High District | 09–12 | Public |
| 6900 WEST 4TH STREET | Sacramento | District not reported | 01–07 | Private |
| AIMS College Prep High | Oakland | AIMS College Prep High District | 09–12 | Public |
| Aspen Ridge Public | Fresno | Aspen Ridge Public District | 07–12 | Public |
| ALL SAINTS ACADEMY OF STOCKTON | Stockton | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
| BETHANY BAPTIST ELEMENTARY | Long Beach | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
| Bakersfield High | Bakersfield | Kern High | 09–12 | Public |
| Abraham Lincoln Continuation | Riverside | Riverside Unified | 09–12 | Public |
| CALVARY CHRISTIAN SCHOOL | Santa Ana | District not reported | KG–08 | Private |
Questions about California high schools.
How many public high schools are in California?
K12 Atlas counts 2,209 California schools reported at the high level in its 2024 NCES CCD-aligned directory.
What does the California high-school count include?
It includes public and charter records classified at the high level. Other grade configurations and private-school records are grouped separately so the count is reproducible.
Which California cities and districts have high-school listings?
The directory covers 616 cities and 789 districts. The examples on this page show identity, location, district, and grade span without ranking schools.
Can I download the full list of California high schools?
The examples and aggregate counts are free. Full school rows and API entry are paid — see API access.
Need the full California dataset?
Licensed access returns every California school with all 122 documented fields, each tied to a source and vintage.